Who is ISO 9001 For?

To answer this question, you need to understand the concept of third party auditing. When you achieve certification in ISO 9001, it means that a third-party auditor (certification body) has assessed your quality management system to meet or exceed all requirements of the international standard, including continual improvement. Therefore, your company or organization has gained credibility and can actively promote its certification to potential consumers or clients. Certification in ISO 9001 can boost your company’s profile for “request for proposals” (RFPs) or, in some instances, it may be part of the necessary requirements to qualify for a contract.
For sure, having ISO 9001 certification represents an opportunity for a company to increase demand for its product or service, stay competitive in a marketplace and potentially expand its horizon into new markets.

Firms that need to migrate from ISO 9001: 2008

By Fall 2018, ISO 9001: 2008 will have been superseded. It means that all companies or organizations having ISO 9001: 2008 certification will need to have migrated to the new standard ISO 9001: 2015.

Click below to see what key differences are between ISO 9001: 2008 and ISO 9001: 2015.

Firms that wish to achieve ISO 9001: 2015 certification

ISO 9001: 2015 applies to all types of companies or organizations, whether it relates to manufacturing, services, engineering, research or retail. ISO 9001: 2015 uses new terminology by referring to both “product and service” in all sections of the standard, as opposed to the 2008 version that left many people perplexed on its applicability. The main difference between “product” and “service” is the fact that “product conformity” can be determined prior to be delivered to customers, as opposed to “service” whose conformity can only be assessed after being delivered to customers.

Read case studies of the impact of ISO 9001 to your industry.

À qui ISO 9001 peut-elle bénéficier?

Pour répondre à cette question, vous devez comprendre le concept de vérification par un troisième parti. Quand vous obtenez la certification ISO 9001, ça implique qu’un auditeur indépendant (troisième parti) a évalué votre système de gestion de la qualité comme rencontrant toutes les exigences de la norme internationale, incluant la notion d’amélioration continue. Ainsi, votre compagnie ou organisation a gagné en crédibilité et peut activement promouvoir sa certification auprès de clients ou consommateurs potentiels. La certification ISO 9001 peut améliorer votre profil pour les propositions d’affaires ou, dans certains cas, il se peut que la certification fasse partie des exigences pour se qualifier à un contrat. La certification ISO 9001 représente une opportunité pour une compagnie d’accroitre la demande pour son produit ou service, de demeurer compétitif et potentiellement de viser de nouveaux marchés.

Les compagnies ou organisations qui devront migrer vers la nouvelle norme ISO 9001 :2015

La présente version, ISO 9001:2008, sera déchue à l’automne 2018. Ceci veut dire que toutes les compagnies ou organisations certifiées ISO 9001 :2008 devront avoir migrées à la nouvelle norme ISO 9001 :2015 avant l’automne 2018.

Les compagnies ou organisations visées par ISO 9001:2015

La norme ISO 9001:2015 s’applique à tout type de compagnie ou organisation, qu’elle soit du domaine manufacturier, service, génie, recherche ou commerce au détail. ISO 9001 :2015 utilise une nouvelle terminologie en employant les termes produits et services dans toutes les sections, contrairement à l’ancienne version qui laissait beaucoup de gens perplexes quant à son applicabilité. La différence principale au niveau de la norme entre produit et service est qu’on connait la conformité du produit avant sa distribution au consommateur, tandis que la conformité du service ne peut être connue qu’après avoir été fournie au consommateur.