Technology Industry Case Study

ISO 9001 applies to the quality management system of any organisation, but n addition there are other ISO standards whose purposes are to address specific standardization issues in different field of activities, such as information technology or software development. However, our company, SysExpert targets specifically ISO 9001:2015.

The “dot-com” technology ventures of the 1990s and more recent technology companies’ failures have very often two things in common: overspending to develop their state-of-the-art products, software or online services and more-than-you-can-chew expansion to capitalise on their unique ideas.

ISO 9001:2015 is not a panacea, but it does shed a light on the context of the organisation. In the case of technology companies’ failures, it would have been advantageous to look at interested parties, external and internal issues and risk-based thinking that applies to their business processes, including design processes.

A study of the context of the organisation could have recognized imminent risks that had to be mitigated but also new opportunities to develop. By communicating these risks and opportunities back to shareholders and other interested parties, their needs and expectations could have changed. In the end, a hefty expansion could have become a more conservative approach. A product that seemed to be a great idea could have become too risky to develop and put to market given the constraints of the time. Amid all that, maybe opportunities easier than original plan to develop and put to the market could have been envisioned.

ISO 9001:2015 preaches communications and feedbacks between interested parties, as a company does not operate in isolation but is impacted by ever changing factors.

Étude de cas – absence d’un programme effectif d’ISO 9001 – secteur de la technologie

ISO 9001 s’applique à toutes les organisations, mais il y a aussi plusieurs autres normes qui ont pour but de cibler différents enjeux en standardisation. Par exemple, certaines normes ciblent particulièrement la technologie de l’information et le développement de logiciel. Cependant, notre compagnie, SysExpert cible spécifiquement ISO 9001 :2015 et ISO 14001 :2015.

L’ère des entreprises de technologie “dot-com” des années 1990s et celles des années plus récentes qui ont échoué avaient deux choses en commun : des dépenses excessives pour développer leurs produits, logiciels ou services en ligne et une expansion trop agressive afin de capitaliser le plus rapidement possible sur leurs idées innovatrices.

Une étude du contexte de l’organisation aurait mis en lumière des risques imminents qui auraient dû être mitigés, mais également des opportunités à développer. En communiquant les risques et opportunités auprès des actionnaires et autres partis intéressés, leurs besoins et attentes auraient pu changer. En bout de ligne, une expansion agressive aurait pu devenir plus conservatrice. Un produit qui semblait être une brillante idée aurait pu devenir trop risquée à développer et mis sur le marché avec les contraintes du temps. À travers tout cela, peut-être que des opportunités plus faciles à développer et à mettre sur le marché auraient été trouvées et mises en application.

ISO 9001 :2015 insiste sur les communications et rétroactions entre les partis intéressés, puisqu’une compagnie n’opère jamais en isolation mais est toujours influencée par des facteurs, conditions et contraintes qui changent à travers le temps.